ONE-YEAR KIDNEYVERSARY!

That’s right, one year ago today I received my new kidney that saved my life. How can it feel like 10 years ago AND yesterday?? I’m much more emotional than I thought I’d be – have been for a few days. It’s been a long 3-year journey – autoimmune disease diagnosis, treatment, kidney failure, dialysis, transplant, rejection, treatment, recovery. But those are just steps along the way.

Here are two much more important elements of my journey:

People – my Angel Wife, Stacy (without whom I would not be alive), my children, extended family, friends, church, work, medical professionals, fellow patients – and, of course, my partners in our amazing Kidney Chain: Amy, who’s death from cystic fibrosis inspired cousin Breelynn Horn to be an altruistic kidney donor; Heather Kantor who received Breelyn’s kidney; Emory Fuqua who donated her kidney on my behalf to Laurie Dietrichson Troxell in Colorado; and my brother-from-another-mother, Glenn Croc Millar, who donated on behalf of Heather, and gave me his kidney. (I know that’s confusing – here’s a better explanation)

Impact – people have been asking me a legitimate question: Am I glad 2016 is almost over? First, I’m typically not one to regret. What happens happens – it’s our response to it that matters. Second, every step along this journey has become part of my DNA. It has imprinted the experiences on my spirit. It has fundamentally changed me in so many ways. My perspective on life and the future has been transformed. God has worked each step for my good, who is more concerned with my inside (WHO I am) rather than all the outside parts working right.

All signs point to my new kidney doing great. I’ll have my one-year biopsy next week to confirm. Recovery from the rejection treatments and my body just getting used to this new normal has been a sloooow process. I’ve only started to feel significant improvements in my strength and stability over the last 5 weeks, which made for a much happier Christmas.

We are so thankful to God for His grace and mercy through this, and to all our friends around the world for their support and prayers.

Leave a Reply

