>>> NO REJECTION!! <<<

Just left the doctor’s office and that’s the word. Thank you, Jesus!

Week before last my medical team decided to push up my biopsy from tomorrow to Wednesday of last week. The results show much improvement from last months’ biopsy results and no acute signs of rejection.

The simplest explanation of the possible cause of the rejections is an absorption problem of the primary medication used to suppress my immune system, and thus fight off rejection. That med level was dangerously low a few times, which is probably what opened the door to the attacks. In the last month they have gotten that med level much more stabilized and in the range it should be, so everyone is confident that rejection issues are over.

While our initial reaction was tears of joy and prayers of gratitude, we’ve found that our bodies and minds are taking a little longer to absorb this news. We are pretty shell-shocked from the rocky road of the last 4 months – 4 surgeries with sedation, plus 4 biopsies in 3 months, the 2 rejection incidents, Prednisone for 3 months, including two weeks of high-dose infusions, and nearly 40 blood draws. This whole time we’ve been waiting for the next shoe to drop. So to hear that there’s no dropping shoe is wondrous, but foreign, and we are still processing.

I will still have a few check-ups a year and will take the immunosuppressants the rest of my life. Hopefully you won’t hear from me about this for a looooong time.

Stacy and I, and my family, cannot thank you all enough for walking through this journey the past 2.5 years with us. We are blest far more than we deserve.

Our prayer for us, and you: “Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.” (James 1:2-4)

One thought on “>>> NO REJECTION!! <<<

  1. I was thrilled to hear the great news!
    As my mom so often said… “God is not done with you yet!”

    My son is still functioning at 19% each kidney. Your story has been/is so ministering to me.
    Thank you for putting your experience ‘out there’.

    Like

Leave a comment